March 24, 2010

  • 8 x 4

    200 Metres. A whole new world.

    So finally it happened. Last Wednesday Joanne and I collected the keys to the new place. After bollocksing up the mortgage, and making several mistakes on the way, the bank finally worked out how to do its’ job, and handed over the cash. And on Thursday, I moved in.

    One of my suppliers got me a load of boxes, so I packed as much of the stuff as I could, as Gay Polish Rob, Et and Ralph all headed over for a spot of heavy lifting. Packing the boxes in to the car, driving the 200 metres down the road, and up to the 8th floor of this brand new apartment block.

    8 years of living on the 4th floor are over. I have gone up in the world – and now there is an amazing view of the estuary out to Danshui, as well as the customary view of Da Tun Shan and Yang Ming national park. 2 balconies and great springtime weather join forces to make my morning coffee a most enjoyable affair.

    Whilst waiting for Et and Ralph to arrive, the Polack and I took some stuff in his car. I closed the door – at least, I thought I did – and we drove over. As we returned though, the door was open. Weird. And the cats were nowhere to be seen. I checked inside – cupboards, wardrobes, all over, but no sign of the felines. Etienne and Ralph arrived, and also checked upstairs and also all the way to the basement, but nothing. The kittens had never ventured out before, so anything could have happened. It could have been one mega adventure for them, but I had no idea where they were.

    Most of the stuff was brought over by around 5:30, and as there was an evening football game to play, Polack and I headed in to the pitch for the game. After the game I took the MRT back to Guandu and then the bus to the new place, chucked my dirty football things on the floor, and headed to the old place, hoping to find the babies. They weren’t downstairs in the courtyard, so I went upstairs in to the apartment. Just in case. As I turned on the light, 2 frightened faces appeared from the kitchen – they had been hiding in one of the cabinets (obviously scared of the noise 4 people make, and seeing all the boxes disappear). I was relieved, and gave them both a big cuddle before packing them in to their box for the short walk to the new home.

    As we got in to the new place, I opened up the box. 2 kittens looked out, but move they did not. No – much safer inside the box. Ginge looked like he wanted to come out, but Grace was not budging. So I waited, and after a few minutes they ventured out, still frightened, but curious as to where the heck they were.

    The following day the fridge and washing machine were delivered, and the water heater arrived the day after that. All I need now is some more furniture, and some additional space in the kitchen for the appliances. There is nowhere for my rice cooker to go, nowhere for my blender. But the smell of the brand new pad, the view, and all the good things make up for these minor setbacks. And as soon as I get a job that pays me some wonga, we’ll be back on track! Until then, those relaxing morning coffees with the balcony doors open and the fresh air coming in will be totally enjoyed!

    But the elevator keeps stopping on the 4th floor. I haven’t got the hang yet of hitting the right floor button in the elevator. Maybe I will work it out soon!

Comments (1)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *